Cannabis in Massachusetts is a very new phenomenon. Medical cannabis (Medical Use) has been legal in Massachusetts since 2012 and recreational cannabis (Adult Use) sales didn’t start until December of 2018. With the relative newness of the Massachusetts cannabis market, there are plenty of common questions that need to be addressed. Here is a list of frequently asked questions in regards to Happy Valley’s dispensaries and cannabis in Massachusetts.
Recreational Cannabis FAQ:
Adults aged 21 or older can buy recreational cannabis from our dispensaries with government-issued ID. Here are some common questions in regards to recreational cannabis:
These words are synonymous. “Cannabis” is the proper term used by scientists and industry professionals , whereas marijuana is a slang term associated with the prohibition of cannabis products in the 1930s.
Medical cannabis and recreational cannabis are grown in the same manner. What separates these products is their use. Medical Use minimizes the symptoms of several conditions or diseases, and reduces symptoms of conditions and diseases, while Adult Use is for recreation.
Using cannabis in any form is illegal on public or federal land. Smoking, vaping, tinctures, and edibles are not allowed in public.
Yes, provided it is within the legal purchasing limits and you are transporting the product and not consuming it. Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal, dangerous, and can result in a DUI. Here’s everything you need to know about driving with cannabis in Massachusetts.
You can carry up to one ounce of cannabis at a time for recreational use. Possessing more than one ounce may result in a misdemeanor charge, six months of incarceration, and a maximum fine of $500 for the first offense.
It is legal to grow up to six cannabis plants in your home as an individual, and up to twelve for a house with two or more adults. Possessing more than ten ounces of cannabis in your home at any time is illegal. If you have more than one ounce of cannabis in your house, it must be locked away.
Under Massachusetts law, adults 21 and over will be permitted to purchase marijuana products at licensed dispensaries. Similar programs in other states are sometimes referred to as recreational sales. The law was approved by Massachusetts voters in November 2016 and the Cannabis Control Commission is in the process of licensing eligible facilities to serve Adult Use consumers.
Happy Valley offers recreational cannabis and medical cannabis at all of our locations. To buy recreational cannabis from Happy Valley, you must be 21 or older and present a valid ID.
Medical Cannabis FAQ:
Medical cannabis has provided relief to millions of legal patients for a broad range of diseases and conditions. From pain management to epilepsy relief, cannabis has disrupted the medical world. Here are common questions regarding medical cannabis in Massachusetts.
Massachusetts law allows a qualifying patient to possess up to a 14 or 60-day supply of cannabis for his or her personal medical use. The regulations define a 60-day supply as up to 10 ounces. The regulations define a 14-day supply as 2.5 ounces of cannabis, although a clinician can recommend a higher amount with a written explanation.
The state of Massachusetts relies on physicians to recommend cannabis to patients. To qualify, you must have what the state deems a “debilitating medical condition.” Medical patients must be 18 years or older, unless a minor is accompanied by a personal caregiver over the age of 21 with a patient registration card.
Insurance does not cover medical marijuana. Cannabis products are subject to FDA approval, and the haven’t approved any cannabis products, aside from CBD medicines for the treatment of epilepsy. As a federally illegal substance, the federal government claims cannabis is “to have no currently accepted medical use in treatment in the United States.” This Section I status makes insuring medical cannabis impossible, for the time being.
Guests can reserve time to meet privately with one of our Hosts if needed. Our locations feature a private consultation room to make sure your medical cannabis experience matches your individual needs.
Getting a medical cannabis card has several benefits that recreational users don’t get. Medical users are exempt from the 10.75% marijuana excise tax that recreational users pay. At Happy Valley, guests with a medical card are also fast-tracked through the express line for expedient service.
A registered caregiver is a person registered with the Department of Public Health who has agreed to assist a registered patient with their medical marijuana use. For example, a family member, nurse, or home health aide may serve as a registered caregiver. They serve patients who are unable to physically travel to a dispensary.
Only Massachusetts issued medical marijuana cards are accepted at Massachusetts dispensaries.
Massachusetts law allows a qualifying patient to posses up to a 14 or 60-day supply of cannabis for his or her personal medical use. The regulations define a 60-day supply as up to 10 ounces. The regulations define a 14-day supple as 2.5 ounces of cannabis, although a clinician can recommend a higher amount, with a written explanation.
Happy Valley Dispensary FAQ:
We currently do not offer a Medical Use or Adult Use delivery service.
You will be required to show your ID at four separate points throughout your purchase. Please make sure to have it handy.
You can not bring in your children or any person under the age of 21 inside the dispensary without a Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Authorization card.
Yes. We will have cashless card options as well as an onsite ATM.
Download the Happy Valley app, enter in your phone number and tap “Purchases”. Here you will see a list view of all purchase history and receipts.
If you are a medical patient, you will need to bring your valid, state-issued Medical Marijuana card.
For Adult Use, you’ll need to bring state-issued Identification. Identification must be valid (not expired) and show:
- The bearer’s date of birth,
- The bearer’s signature (except US Military ID – see below)
- A photograph of bearer
Types of acceptable ID:
- Driver’s License, Instruction Permit, or I.D. Card issued by any U.S. State, U.S. Territory and District of Columbia.
- Driver’s License, Instruction Permit, or I.D. Card issued by any Canadian Province
- Valid Massachusetts State Temporary Driver’s License
- U.S. Armed Forces I.D. Card (Encrypted signature acceptable)
- Merchant Marine I.D. Card issued by the U.S. Coast Guard
- Massachusetts Liquor Card
- Official Passport, passport card, NEXUS card
Yes. All of our dispensaries are ADA accessible with many handicap parking spaces.
You don’t need a medical card to enter Happy Valley if you are 21 or older. You can enter Happy Valley between the ages of 18 and 21 only if you are a registered patient with a medical card.
If we have positions open at one of our locations, you can find them on our careers page.
Yes, when you join the Happy Valley Insider loyalty program you will earn 1 point for every dollar you spend. Download our iPhone or Android app to view rewards points balance, special offers and discounts.. After checking in and presenting a valid ID, you can “opt-in” with your phone number to become a Happy Valley Insider rewards member. A Happy Valley Host can sign you up as well.
We do not sell seeds and plants at Happy Valley.
According to Massachusetts state law, cannabis retailers can sell up to one ounce of cannabis at a time. For cannabis concentrate, we can sell up to five grams at a time.
For cannabis edibles, the THC in a single serving cannot exceed five milligrams. The limit for servings that can be sold is 20, with a maximum of 100 milligrams of THC.
Yes. We will have a variety of marijuana accessories available for purchase, including a variety of pipes/bowls, vaporizers, rolling papers, and more.
We do not currently offer a medical or adult use delivery service at this time. However, you can place an online order for express pickup.
Purchasing limits from the state are per-purchase. It is Happy Valley policy that once you reach the legal limit of one ounce of flower and five grams of concentrates purchased, you will no longer be permitted to purchase cannabis products from any one of our locations for the remainder of the day.
Returns are only offered on vape cartridges and batteries. Receipt and packaging are required, and must be returned within a 2-4 day window.
Our locations are opening in 2020, our hours of operation will be from 9:00AM to 10:00 PM.
No, currently we do not offer a medical or adult use delivery service. However, you can place an online order for express pick up.
Residents 21 and older can purchase and possess up to 1 ounce of retail marijuana at a time. Non-residents can purchase up to ¼ ounce (7 grams) at a time.
Yes. All of our dispensaries are all ADA accessible.
Cannabis Quality FAQ:
You should never compromise on cannabis quality. As the cannabis industry graduates from the black market, dispensaries and cultivators are improving their practices to enhance the cannabis experience for consumers. Here are some common questions about cannabis quality.
Our partner Medicinal Genomics has sequenced the DNA of every cultivar, which is verified by scanning the QR code on the packaging using the Happy Valley app.
The word “strain” is actually an inappropriate term for cannabis varieties. A “strain” refers to genetic variation among bacteria, fungi, and viruses, whereas “cultivar” refers to plants. Many cannabis retailers still refer to cultivars as strains, but this is inaccurate. At Happy Valley we have many rare and common cultivars to choose from.
Propylene glycol is a solvent found in many cannabis oil cartridges and has been shown to be a pulmonary toxin when heating. PG has several hazardous byproducts at high temperatures, including formaldehyde. Happy Valley is committed to selling only propylene glycol-free and vegetable glycerin-free products.
Still Have Questions?
If you have any questions that we haven’t answered in this FAQ page, be sure to contact Happy Valley and submit your questions today.